Navigation Menu+

Jae Laffer









Jae Laffer has dropped his new single and video, ‘Hotel Motel’.

Describing the single, Laffer said today, “Hotel Motel sets the tone for the rest of the album. It’s a song essentially about the beauty of getting lost and the poetry of life on the fringes. I wrote the words in the Pilbara WA, so the coastline and the isolation crept in. Mostly, I love the mystery of the song. The music was captured in a first take”.

Hotel Motel is the first single to be lifted from Laffer’s forthcoming new album, set for release in the first half of 2020.

Laffer is recognised as one of Australia’s finest songwriters; with The Panics he picked up triple j’s album of the year along with an ARIA Award for the song ‘Cruel Guards’. He has cultivated a reputation for lush, cinematic pop that embraces both stark intimacy and unapologetic poetic grandeur, whilst The Panics can lay claim to being one of Australia’s most important indie bands. 

Laffer has always been a rich and evocative storyteller, whether he’s narrating small-town road trips or reflecting on those halcyon days hanging out in his native Perth”  – Rolling Stone Magazine